Trattoria dal Billy, Manarola

WHERE TO EAT

IMG_6400

This powerful little restaurant of flavour and emotion was recommended by a local and was tucked away in the backstreets of Manarola. Featuring truly ridiculous views of the town this restaurant really is a local Gem. I was advised to book a table, so I popped in early morning and was delighted to see the owner and a few other cooks up and at ’em preparing everything freshly for the day, they were as friendly as you like and the main man booked me in no problem. I arrived for lunch it was the table of dreams, front of the terrace, looking right out onto the Marina, I’d go as far to say it was best seat in the house.

To start I had fresh bread, olive oil and Billy’s balsamic vinegar reduction with a very sassy red rock salt, accompanied by an Aperol spritz because let’s be honest it is quite the beverage and I’ve always been partial to an Aperitivo (Big up to my mum for her enthusiam for Negronis and the likes) For Main I revelled in the above homemade pasta (tagliolini I think) and to be honest the pasta alone was enough to leave you breathless. It was so fresh and delectable and the fresh tomato sauce, sweet pepper, shrimps and pine nuts running through it were exceptional.

I even went wild and got a tiramisu because I thought, christ if this is their pasta, can I go back to England not knowing what the tiramisu was like. I can say wholeheartedly it was worth the risk.

Threw in an espresso at end just for the banter. Whole Thing was €29.50 which was a lunchtime splash but so worth it.

http://www.trattoriabilly.com/en/

 

 

 

Leave a comment